Quality and safety education for nurses

Catherine C. Alexander, Gail Armstrong, Amy J. Barton

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

2 Scopus citations


This chapter outlines a brief history of quality and safety education for nurses (QSEN), discusses the four phases of development of the QSEN initiative, and reviews the six QSEN competencies, that is, safety, informatics, patient-centered care (PCC), quality improvement (QI), teamwork and collaboration, and evidence-based practice (EBP). Built into each QSEN competency are the knowledge, skills and attitudes (KSAs) associated with each QSEN competency. QSEN is a vibrant national initiative for nurses and nursing educators that offer resources for integrating the institute of medicine’s (IOM) recommendations into models of nursing education both in pre licensure and graduate nursing education. The chapter identifies how the QSENKSAs are integrated into various phases of a nursing curriculum. It also connects the QSEN competencies to accreditation standards for nursing programs. Finally, the chapter discusses nursing journals that have published QSEN-specific supplements and resources available for further learning about the QSEN competencies.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Title of host publicationIntroduction to Quality and Safety Education for Nurses, Second Edition
Subtitle of host publicationCore Competencies for Nursing Leadership and Management
PublisherSpringer Publishing Company
Number of pages26
ISBN (Electronic)9780826123855
ISBN (Print)9780826123411
StatePublished - Jan 1 2018
Externally publishedYes


  • Evidence-based practice
  • Nurse
  • Patient-centered care
  • Quality improvement
  • Safety education for nurses
  • Teamwork

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Nursing(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Quality and safety education for nurses'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this